Police Pay
Independent Comparison · Prices Checked 29 September 2026

Police Recruitment Coaching:
What It Costs and Whether It's Worth It

Advertised prices, guarantee terms and honest pros and cons for the main paid options for England and Wales applicants (Bluelight Consultancy, Careers in Blue, How2Become), the free alternatives, and a way to decide which stage of the process, if any, is worth paying for. Includes where our own AI tools fit, and where they do not.

Bluelight Consultancy
Careers in Blue
How2Become
Free Options
AI vs Human
Guarantees Explained
Checklist

Read this first: our interest

PolicePay sells a competing product: AI-based interview feedback (see where PolicePay fits). We have no human coaches. That is a conflict of interest, so we have set out the alternatives as fairly as we can, used only what each business publishes on its own website, and told you where the information was missing or unclear.

All prices and terms below are as advertised on each provider's website on 29 September 2026, linked in the sources list.

Prices, VAT treatment and terms change, some pages showed inconsistent figures, and we have not bought or tested any competitor's product. Pass rates and testimonials are the providers' own claims, not ours.

If anything here is out of date or unfair, tell us through the contact page and we will check and correct it. PolicePay is independent and is not affiliated with any police force or the College of Policing.

Is it worth paying?

The short version: For many candidates, free official guidance plus honest practice is enough. Paid coaching is most likely to earn its cost at the live interview and for people who cannot judge their own answers, are reapplying after an unsuccessful result, or have a complicated vetting history.

Advertised prices run from a few pounds for guides to several hundred, and up to £1,000 or more, for full programmes. No coach can guarantee you a job, and we could not find independently verified pass-rate data for any provider, including us.

Our short version:

  • Start with the free official material
  • Pay for the stage you are weakest at, not the whole process
  • Get any guarantee's conditions in writing
  • A human mock is the strongest case for paid help
  • Treat every pass rate as marketing until explained
  • Compare at least two options before paying

Guide Directory

What you are actually buying

In England and Wales the constable process usually runs in this order (the exact stages and their order vary by force and entry route):

  1. Application.
  2. National Sift: a situational judgement test and a behavioural styles questionnaire.
  3. Online Assessment Centre: a competency-based interview, a written exercise and a briefing exercise.
  4. Local interview, in many forces.
  5. Vetting, medical and fitness checks.

Our OAC explainer and recruitment timeline planner lay out the stages in detail.

Paid help comes in four broad shapes, and the shape matters more than the brand.

Information

Guides, workbooks and pre-recorded courses. Cheap, instant and impersonal. Useful for understanding the format; they cannot react to what you actually say.

Group teaching

Live webinars or workshops with a trainer and other candidates. Mid price. You get Q&A and structure, but little individual feedback in a large group.

One-to-one feedback

A person listens to your answers or reads your written work and tells you what to change. Highest price per hour, and the part hardest to replace.

Packages and guarantees

Bundled programmes, often with a pass-or-refund promise. The value depends on the deliverables and the conditions, not the headline.

What the assessors score is set by the College of Policing's Competency and Values Framework and the scoring approach used for the assessment. Nobody outside the process can change how you are marked. What a coach, course or tool can change is how well you show your real experience against those behaviours, and how calm you are on the day.

Which stage needs paid help?

Do not pay for a whole-process package by default. Work out where you are genuinely weakest and match the help to that stage.

Application form and eligibility

Free help is usually enough

What free help covers

Force recruitment pages, eligibility checks, and careful reading of the questions. Most of this is factual, not performance.

What paid help adds

Some providers sell application reviews or downloadable guides. We could not verify a current price for a human application review on 29 September 2026.

National Sift (SJT and BSQ)

Free first, paid optional

What free help covers

College of Policing candidate guidance, plus free SJT practice. The behavioural styles questionnaire is about how you typically act, so there is no set of answers to rehearse.

What paid help adds

Structured practice and explanation of the format. Bluelight advertises a £147 SIFT programme; Careers in Blue advertises a £35 one-hour SIFT masterclass module.

Online Assessment Centre (competency interview, written, briefing)

Paid help can add real value

What free help covers

College of Policing guidance, the CVF, STAR practice, our free readiness check and STAR checker.

What paid help adds

Human feedback on the competency-based interview and the written exercise is where paid help can add most: someone reads or listens to your actual content and tells you where it loses marks.

In-person or final interview (varies by force)

Best case for a human mock

What free help covers

Force guidance and our in-person interview explainer. Practising with a friend or family member who will ask follow-up questions costs nothing.

What paid help adds

A live mock with a person who asks unscripted follow-ups is the closest thing to the real experience. This is where a human beats any AI tool most clearly.

Vetting

Paid only for complex cases

What free help covers

Force vetting guidance, honesty, thorough address and finance records, and our vetting hub and free evidence builder.

What paid help adds

Specialist advice can matter if you have a complicated history (past caution, debt, associates) or a refusal to appeal. Bluelight advertises vetting support from £79 to £497 with no refunds on consultations.

Fitness test

Free or general fitness help

What free help covers

A structured training plan, a running club, a bleep test app. Progress is measurable and does not depend on anyone's opinion.

What paid help adds

A personal trainer or running coach is often a better fit than a recruitment coach. Bluelight states it does not advise on medical eligibility or fitness tests.

Deeper guides by stage: the National Sift hub, the OAC hub, the in-person interview, the vetting hub and the fitness hub.

Price and format comparison

Advertised prices on 29 September 2026. Where a page did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guess. Prices marked plus VAT will cost more at checkout.

Table 1: Human-led coaching, workshops and consultations

Option Format Advertised price Refund or guarantee as stated
Careers in Blue, Police Officer Modular Workshops (National Sift, competency interview, written, briefing) 1-hour online group sessions; each module also offered as a separate product £35 each (four modules = £140). VAT status not stated. Cancellation charges set out in their policy; see below
Careers in Blue, Final Structured Interview workshop 3-hour online session, maximum 10 people, usually Wednesday 6pm to 9pm £149 group; £199 one-to-one. VAT status not stated. Cancellation charges set out in their policy
Careers in Blue, one-to-one OAC workshop One-to-one online £199. VAT status not stated. Cancellation charges set out in their policy
Careers in Blue, one-to-one structured mock interview Arranged by contact; session length not stated on the page £125. VAT status not stated. Cancellation charges set out in their policy
Bluelight Consultancy, National Sift programme Digital programme including one 1-1 coaching session, practice materials, feedback £147. VAT status not stated. Refund if you complete the programme in full and do not pass; none once materials accessed otherwise (their wording)
Bluelight Consultancy, full police recruitment coaching Online modules, live small-group masterclasses, one-to-one coaching; 2-3 months recommended, intensive 7-day option Not published. The page gives two ranges: “several hundred to £1,000+” and, elsewhere, “typically £1k–£2k” with payment plans (their wording). Pass-or-refund guarantee: full refund if you do not pass after two supported attempts (their wording)
Bluelight Consultancy, vetting support Triage, appeal review, or full support; phone consultations £79 / £247 / £497. VAT status not stated. No refunds for vetting consultations or appeals (their wording)
How2Become, live-streamed police course Live webinar, about 2 hours, group Q&A £49.99 + VAT shown in one place and £67 + VAT in the FAQ on the same page Page advertises a guaranteed pass or full refund; we did not find the conditions on that page
How2Become, live-streamed assessment centre course Live webinar, about 3-4 hours £147 + VAT (shown as 'now only') No refund wording on that page

Table 2: Free, self-serve and AI options

Option Format Advertised price Availability Feedback type
College of Policing and force recruitment pages Written guides, FAQs, videos (see sources) Free Anytime None personal; describes the process and what is assessed
PolicePay free tools (STAR checker, OAC readiness check, SJT practice, free interview practice) Interactive, self-serve £0 Instant, 24/7 Automated structure and rubric feedback
PolicePay Full CVF Feedback Pass AI feedback engine, OAC and in-person modes, written exercise trainer £24.99 one-off, 30 days Instant, 24/7 AI scoring against published CVF; no human
PolicePay Full CVF Feedback Pass, 90 days As above, 90 days £39.99 one-off, 90 days Instant, 24/7 AI scoring against published CVF; no human
PolicePay OAC and Interview Toolkit As above, 6 months £69.99 one-off, 180 days Instant, 24/7 AI, unlimited practice in window
Careers in Blue, Police Recruitment Start to Finish Guide and Workbook Guide and workbook (format not stated on the page) £30.00 Delivery not stated None personal
How2Become, police application form download Digital download with bonus interview guide £6.97 (advertised as reduced from £12.97). VAT status not stated. Instant download None personal
How2Become, Police Officer Final Interview Masterclass Online modules, 25+ modules and downloads £7 for 30 days, then £27 + VAT every 30 days unless cancelled Instant Pre-recorded; personal feedback not described
How2Become, online Police Officer course 12 modules, mock papers, end-of-course exam £3 for 14 days, then £27 + VAT per month Instant Pre-recorded; personal feedback not described
How2Become, Police Officer Interview online course Online training £19.97 + VAT per month Instant Pre-recorded; personal feedback not described

Not listed: private coaches and smaller providers we could not verify (some pages did not load when we checked, so we left them out rather than rely on snippets), and any product a provider only quotes on request. Absence from this page is not a judgement on any business.

The main paid options, described fairly

What each offers, what it costs, what it says about refunds and results, what it does well, and who it suits.

Bluelight Consultancy

bluelightconsultancy.com ↗

A coaching business founded by Brendan O'Brien, described on its site as having a 28-year career with UK and Bermuda police forces, retiring at inspector rank.

Its recruitment programme covers the National Sift, written applications, assessment centres, detective exercises and final interviews. Its vetting service is described as led by a former Head of Vetting.

Format

Online modules, live small-group masterclasses and one-to-one coaching. Recommends 2 to 3 months of preparation and offers intensive programmes for short-notice assessments (as fast as 7 days).

Booking starts with a discovery call via an application form.

Advertised price (29 September 2026)

The full recruitment programme is not priced on the site. The page gives two ranges: options “range from several hundred to £1,000+”, and elsewhere “typically £1k–£2k with payment plans”, with the top tier including the pass guarantee.

It describes the programme as not a low-cost course or single session. The National Sift programme is £147. Vetting support is £79 (triage), £247 (appeal review) or £497 (full support). VAT status is not stated on the pages we read.

Refund, guarantee and results claims (their words, our summary)

Advertises a pass guarantee on the recruitment programme: complete the programme, follow the process, and if you do not pass after two supported attempts you receive a full refund.

The National Sift programme refunds only if you complete it in full and do not pass, with no refund once digital materials are accessed. Vetting consultations and appeals are not refundable.

Self-reported claim on its homepage: a 90% pass rate for police recruitment. We could not find how it is calculated.

What it does well

  • Offers genuine one-to-one time with coaches from policing backgrounds (the founder is a retired inspector), which is the thing automated tools cannot supply.
  • Publishes its guarantee wording on its site, including the completion conditions.
  • Offers a dedicated vetting service led by a former Head of Vetting, and is upfront that vetting advice is not refundable.
  • Clear that it does not advise on medical eligibility or fitness tests.

Who it suits

Candidates who want a structured, high-touch programme with a named human coach, can budget several hundred pounds or more, and value a refund guarantee they have read the conditions of.

Worth checking

You cannot compare price online because the main programme is quoted on request. Ask for the exact figure including VAT, what each tier contains, and the written guarantee conditions before you pay.

Careers in Blue

careersinblue.co.uk ↗

A recruitment coaching and training business offering officer and police staff recruitment support, promotion coaching, mentoring and lateral-move support.

The site names D/C/Insp Katie Allen, described as an accredited coach and College of Policing mentor, for promotion coaching, and trainers Jan and Chris for recruitment courses.

It also runs free weekly chat sessions and a free tip-of-the-week for people who register.

Format

Modular one-hour online workshops (National Sift, competency interview, written exercise, briefing exercise), a 3-hour online final interview workshop capped at 10 people, one-to-one options, one-to-one structured mock interviews, and a guide and workbook covering the whole process.

Advertised price (29 September 2026)

£35 per one-hour module, £149 for the group final interview workshop (£199 one-to-one), £199 for the one-to-one OAC workshop, £125 for a one-to-one mock interview and £30 for the Start to Finish workbook.

VAT status is not stated on the pages we read. Prices are published, which makes this the easiest provider to compare.

Refund, guarantee and results claims (their words, our summary)

No pass guarantee found. Its refund and cancellation policy sets charges for non-attendance: 50% of the course fee if cancelled 7 or more days before, 75% within 7 days and 100% within 24 hours, with an administration fee on refunds.

Self-reported claims on its pages: '97% success for any client that's used all our courses', and that most clients successful at final interview took advantage of mock interviews. Note the first claim is limited to clients who used all its courses.

What it does well

  • Transparent, itemised pricing you can add up in advance.
  • Modular structure: you can buy only the stage you are worried about instead of a whole package.
  • Small-group and one-to-one formats give live feedback at a lower entry price than a full programme.
  • Does not sell a guarantee, so there is no pass-or-refund small print to decode.

Who it suits

Candidates who want a real person's feedback on one specific stage, especially the final interview, and prefer paying per session over a large upfront programme.

Worth checking

Costs add up if you buy every module plus one-to-one sessions. Its own success claim is for people who used all its courses, which is a self-selected group. Check the cancellation charges before booking a date you may not make.

How2Become

how2become.com ↗

A large recruitment-guide publisher with a wide range of police products: downloads, books, online subscriptions and live-streamed webinars, with live courses presented by a trainer the site names as Richard McMunn and describes as an experienced police recruitment trainer.

Format

Mostly self-serve: downloadable application and interview guides, pre-recorded online courses and masterclasses (some on auto-renewing monthly subscriptions), and live-streamed group webinars with a Q&A.

A one-to-one detective direct entry course also appears in its course list.

Advertised price (29 September 2026)

Low entry prices: a police application form download at £6.97, the Final Interview Masterclass at £7 for 30 days then £27 + VAT every 30 days, the online police officer course at £3 for 14 days then £27 + VAT a month, the interview course at £19.97 + VAT a month, and live courses at £49.99 + VAT to £147 + VAT.

Trial prices differ between pages, and the live police course page shows both £49.99 + VAT and £67 + VAT.

Refund, guarantee and results claims (their words, our summary)

Advertises a 30-day money-back guarantee across many products, and a guaranteed pass or full refund on the live police course.

Its terms page states that the 30-day guarantee does not cover webinars, one-to-one training, downloadable or online testing software, subscriptions, or packages containing courses or webinars, so check which promise applies to your purchase.

Self-reported claims include roughly 90% of live-course attendees passing the police selection process and 91% passing the assessment centre, based on its own tracking.

What it does well

  • Very low entry cost and instant access, useful if you want a structured overview quickly.
  • Wide range of formats, from cheap downloads to live Q&A webinars.
  • Cancel-anytime subscription terms are stated on the course pages.
  • Live webinars give you a chance to ask a trainer questions in real time.

Who it suits

Self-starters on a tight budget who want structured content, and candidates who want a live, group format at a modest price. Less suited if you specifically want individual feedback on your own answers.

Worth checking

Monthly subscriptions renew automatically after the trial, VAT is added to many prices, and the guarantees differ between products. Read the terms for the exact item you are buying, not the general homepage promise.

Other providers. There are other independent coaches and course sellers, and new ones appear regularly. We only included businesses whose own pages we could load and read on 29 September 2026. Use the checklist below on any provider, including ones not named here.

The Police Federation's CV Guru service is aimed at serving officers and police staff moving to a new career, not at people applying to join, so it is not a recruitment-coaching option and is not compared here.

A note on names. You may see a bluelightonline.co.uk address mentioned alongside Bluelight Consultancy. When we loaded it on 29 September 2026 we found no product or pricing pages, so everything above comes from bluelightconsultancy.com.

The free and official options

The official process is not a secret. The College of Policing publishes an online assessments candidate guide, and forces publish their own recruitment pages.

For example, Thames Valley Police's page describes the two stages (the National Sift with an SJT and a behavioural styles questionnaire, then the Online Assessment Centre with a competency-based interview, written exercise and briefing exercise) and links to the College of Policing's candidate guidance.

We could not open the College of Policing's own pages automatically on 29 September 2026, so read the current guide directly on college.police.uk and on your force's recruitment site.

What free guidance does well: it tells you the format, timings, technical requirements and what is assessed. What it cannot do: tell you whether your specific example would score well. That gap is what paid feedback, human or AI, exists to fill.

Official guidance

College of Policing candidate guides and your force's recruitment pages. Free, current and authoritative on process.

Free PolicePay practice

STAR answer checker, OAC readiness check, SJT practice with six original scenarios, free interview practice questions and a free vetting overview. Several need no sign-up.

Friends and family as a panel

Give someone the CVF and ask them to interrupt with 'what happened next?' and 'why did you decide that?'. Rougher than a coach, but it trains live follow-up.

Current officers and staff

If you know someone serving, ask them what a good example looks like. They cannot share anything confidential and should not, but general advice is free.

How to read guarantees and pass rates

On 29 September 2026 the providers above advertised self-reported success figures of roughly 90%, 91% and 97%, and two of them advertise some form of pass-or-refund promise. None of those figures came with a published method or independent audit that we could find. That does not mean they are wrong. It means you cannot check them, so you should treat them as one provider's account of its own results.

What counts as a starter?

If a provider counts only people who completed everything, the rate excludes those who dropped out, perhaps because they were not getting results.

What counts as a pass?

Passing one stage, passing the OAC, being offered a job and joining are very different things. A rate can quote any of them.

Who is in the sample?

People who buy and finish a full programme are usually more motivated and better organised than average, and might have passed anyway. That is selection, not necessarily coaching.

Over what period?

A rate from a good recruitment year may not reflect today's process, pass marks or vacancy numbers.

What does the guarantee require?

Typical conditions include completing all the content, attending a set number of sessions, sitting a set number of attempts and providing evidence of the result.

Which products does it cover?

One provider's terms list webinars, subscriptions, downloads and one-to-one training among items its 30-day guarantee does not cover, while its live-course page separately advertises a pass-or-refund promise. Always read the terms for the specific item you are buying.

A purely hypothetical illustration

Imagine 100 people buy a programme, 30 stop attending, and 63 of the remaining 70 pass. That is 90% of the people who finished, but 63% of the people who bought. Neither number is dishonest; they answer different questions. This example is invented to show why the denominator matters and is not data about any real provider.

Where does PolicePay stand? We publish no pass rate and make no pass claim, because we do not have verified outcome data and could not collect it fairly. Our own refund policy is a straightforward 14-day money-back guarantee that does not depend on whether you pass anything.

The cost of the whole process

Illustrative only. These are example combinations built from the advertised prices above, not recommendations, and they exclude VAT where it is stated separately.

Route What is in it Illustrative total
A. Free only Official guidance, force pages, free PolicePay tools, practice with a friend or family member. (£0) £0
B. Free plus AI practice PolicePay 30-day Full CVF Feedback Pass plus the Fitness Pass Suite (lifetime). Vetting overview is free, full report is £19.99 extra. (£24.99 + £19.99) £44.98 (£64.97 with vetting report)
C. Books and budget subscriptions Careers in Blue workbook plus the How2Become Final Interview Masterclass 30-day trial. If you do not cancel, £27 + VAT renews every 30 days. (£30.00 + £7.00) £37.00 (VAT status varies)
D. Hybrid: free, AI, one human mock 30-day PolicePay pass for volume practice, then one Careers in Blue one-to-one mock interview as a reality check. (£24.99 + £125) £149.99
E. Group workshops for every stage Careers in Blue four modules, final interview group workshop and one mock interview. (£140 + £149 + £125) £414
F. One-to-one focus Careers in Blue one-to-one OAC workshop, one-to-one final interview and a mock interview. (£199 + £199 + £125) £523
G. Full coaching programme Bluelight's stated ranges for full recruitment coaching (its page says both “several hundred to £1,000+” and “typically £1k–£2k”), with payment plans. Add £79 to £497 if you also buy vetting support. (Quoted on request) Several hundred to £2,000 as advertised (plus vetting if needed)

Three things this simple sum leaves out:

  • VAT. Several How2Become prices are shown plus VAT, and at the standard 20% rate a £27 + VAT monthly subscription would be £32.40.
  • Time. A coaching programme that recommends 2 to 3 months of preparation is also a commitment of evenings and weekends.
  • The cost of an unsuccessful attempt, which is mostly waiting and delay rather than a fee.

That last cost is real, but we cannot put a reliable figure on it, and it differs by force. See what happens if you fail the interview and the OAC.

Whether spending more is sensible also depends on what you can afford. The first-year officer salary is covered in our starting salary guide, but nobody should stretch into debt on the promise of a job that no provider can guarantee.

Who genuinely benefits from human coaching

A good human coach offers something no tool or guide can: a person who listens to you, notices how you come across, adapts on the spot and holds you accountable. Some candidates get real value from that. Being honest about it is part of being useful.

More likely to benefit

  • You are reapplying after an unsuccessful OAC or interview and cannot tell what went wrong.
  • You freeze under live questioning and need pressure-testing with a real person.
  • You have limited work or life experience to draw examples from and need help spotting the relevant ones.
  • You are changing career and want someone who has sat on the other side of the table.
  • You have a complicated vetting history and want specialist advice on disclosure.
  • You are accountable to a person better than to an app, and a paid appointment keeps you practising.

Less likely to need it

  • You have not yet done free preparation. Start there and see how far it takes you.
  • You are worried mainly about the fitness test, which is training, not coaching.
  • You are early in the process (still at the application stage) and the later stages may not be for months.
  • You would need to borrow or stretch your budget to afford a full programme.
  • Your real gap is knowledge of the process, which official guides and the free tools cover.

If you are unsure why candidates lose marks, read why people fail the police interview and common interview mistakes first. If the problems described there are familiar, targeted feedback is where paid help may pay off.

Questions to ask before paying any coach

Works for any provider, including us. A reputable one will answer these without fuss and in writing.

  1. 1

    What is the total price including VAT, and are there any extras (materials, extra sessions, resits)?

  2. 2

    Exactly what do I get: hours of live time, group size, who delivers it, and how long is each session?

  3. 3

    Who will coach me, and what is their current knowledge of the England and Wales process (National Sift, OAC, the CVF)?

  4. 4

    What are the written refund and guarantee conditions? What do I have to complete, attend or show to claim?

  5. 5

    How is the pass rate calculated: who counts as a starter, who counts as a pass, over what period, and is it independently checked?

  6. 6

    Does the pass rate include everyone who bought, or only people who finished the programme?

  7. 7

    How many testimonials are there, are they dated, can I see the source (Google, Trustpilot), and are any from people you invited to review?

  8. 8

    What happens if I miss a session or need to reschedule? Are there cancellation charges?

  9. 9

    Do subscriptions auto-renew, and how do I cancel? Is the trial price the whole price?

  10. 10

    Can I speak to the coach before paying (a discovery call) with no obligation?

  11. 11

    Will I get feedback on my own answers, or is it general teaching content?

  12. 12

    Does the offer avoid promising 'actual questions' or inside information about the assessment?

Checking testimonials. Look for reviews on independent platforms such as Google and Trustpilot rather than only quotes on the provider's own site. Check how many there are, how recent they are and whether the reviewers describe specific things the coach did.

A perfect score from a small number of reviews tells you little. Be equally cautious of any review that reads like marketing copy, and of a few negative reviews taken out of context. Read them in full.

Checking refund terms. Read the exact wording of the refund or guarantee page for the specific product, not the homepage banner. Save a copy or screenshot of the terms and the price at the time you buy. Remember that you may also have statutory consumer rights, which sit on top of any provider's own policy, and that these can differ for live courses booked for a set date and for digital content you have already accessed.

Red flags to watch for

Promises actual assessment questions

Recruitment tests integrity. Offers of leaked questions or model answers to copy are a warning sign, and copying a generic script tends to hurt you in a live interview anyway.

Guarantee with no visible conditions

'Guaranteed pass' is only as good as the small print. If the conditions are not on the page, ask for them in writing before paying.

Unexplained pass rates

A percentage with no denominator, period or method tells you nothing. Treat all self-reported figures, including any we mention, as marketing until explained.

Pressure to buy today

Countdown timers, 'last few places' and one-day discounts are not reasons to skip the comparison. A good coach will let you think.

Vague or hidden pricing

Quoting on request is not itself wrong, but you should get a full written price before you commit, including VAT and payment-plan interest, if any.

Trial prices that roll into subscriptions

A £3 or £7 trial can become £27 + VAT every month. Put a reminder in your calendar and note the cancellation route.

No way to check who they are

Look for a named coach, a verifiable background, a company registration or physical address, and reviews on independent sites.

Guaranteeing outcomes you cannot influence

No coach controls vetting decisions, medicals or force selection numbers. Be wary of anyone who promises a job.

A red flag is a reason to ask more questions, not proof that a business is dishonest. Several of the providers named above publish exactly the kind of detail that makes it easy to check them, which is to their credit.

A sensible plan by budget

£0

Read the College of Policing guidance and your force's pages. Use the free STAR checker, readiness check and SJT practice. Ask a friend to play the panel, asking follow-up questions.

Under £50

Add one paid volume-practice tool (for example a 30-day pass) and, if you need fitness structure, a fitness plan. Keep the free steps.

£100 to £200

Do the free and low-cost preparation first, then buy one human mock interview (Careers in Blue advertises £125) for a reality check 1-2 weeks before the final interview.

£200 to £600

Consider a stage-specific package where you are weakest: a one-to-one workshop for the OAC or final interview. Compare group and one-to-one prices for the same stage.

£600+

Only worth it if you want a structured programme with regular one-to-one time. Get the price, deliverables and guarantee conditions in writing and compare at least two providers.

Where PolicePay fits, honestly

PolicePay is an independent site with AI-based preparation tools, some free and some paid. We have no human coaches and do not sell one-to-one sessions. Our feedback is generated by AI against the published College of Policing CVF. It is a practice and preparation tool, not an official assessment, and it does not predict or guarantee an outcome (see our AI use disclosure).

PolicePay product Price What it is
Free practice tools £0 Free interview practice, STAR checker, OAC readiness check, SJT practice, vetting overview.
Full CVF Feedback Pass £24.99 (30 days) or £39.99 (90 days) AI CVF score, STAR breakdown, missing behaviour detection, answer rewrite, written exercise trainer. One-time payment, not a subscription.
OAC and Interview Toolkit £69.99 (180 days) The same AI engine for six months in one payment, about £0.39 a day. Two 90-day passes would cost £79.98 for the same 180 days, so this suits a long or repeat application.
Vetting Prep Report £19.99 AI vetting readiness report built on your evidence builder answers. Free overview available.
Fitness Pass Suite £19.99 (lifetime) Fitness pass predictor, bleep test weakness analysis and a personalised 6-week plan.
Complete Candidate Prep Bundle £79.99 (180 days) AI interview toolkit plus vetting assessment. The Ultimate bundle adds the Fitness Pass Suite, £94.99 in total.

What AI feedback does well

  • Instant, any time of day, with no need to book a session.
  • Cheap enough to practise many times, which is how you improve.
  • Consistent: it checks the same things every time, such as STAR structure, 'we' versus 'I', missing results and reflection.
  • Private and low-stakes: no embarrassment about a weak first attempt.
  • Covers the written exercise as well, with no camera or microphone needed.

What AI feedback cannot do

  • It is not a human interviewer. There is no live panel, no interruptions, no reading the room.
  • It does not assess your body language, tone, eye contact or nerves.
  • It does not use the official marking scheme or know how your force's assessors will judge you. Its score is a preparation indicator, not a predicted result.
  • It can be wrong or generic, and it cannot check that your example is true or notice when you are holding something back.
  • It cannot coach you through anxiety or hold you accountable like a person can.
  • It cannot give specialist advice on a vetting appeal.

The honest comparison

On price alone, the £69.99 six-month toolkit costs a little over half the price of a single one-to-one mock interview from a human provider (Careers in Blue advertises £125 for one). These are different products: one is six months of AI practice, the other is one session with a person.

If you want one expert opinion from a person, buy the mock. If you want dozens of practice runs at your own pace, AI wins on volume.

The combination is often the best value: free tools and volume practice first, then a human mock for the final reality check. Careers in Blue is named here only because it publishes a clear one-to-one mock price; other providers may suit you better.

Every paid PolicePay tool comes with a 14-day money-back guarantee under our refund policy, not tied to whether you pass. We make no pass-rate claims, because we do not have verified outcome data.

Coaching Cost
FAQ

Is police interview coaching worth it?

It depends on the stage and on you. Free official guidance plus honest self-practice is enough for many candidates. Paid human feedback tends to add the most value at the live final interview and for candidates who struggle to judge their own answers, are reapplying after an unsuccessful result, or have a complicated vetting history. No coach can guarantee a pass, and none of the providers we reviewed publish independently verified pass-rate data.

How much does police recruitment coaching cost?

As advertised on their websites on 29 September 2026, prices ranged from about £7 to £30 for guides and trial access, £35 to £199 for single workshops and mock interviews (Careers in Blue), £147 for a National Sift programme (Bluelight Consultancy), and a range of 'several hundred to £1,000+' for Bluelight's full recruitment programme, which is not itemised online. Some prices are quoted plus VAT and some do not state VAT status.

Are there free alternatives to paid police coaching?

Yes. The College of Policing publishes candidate guidance for the National Sift and online assessment process, forces publish recruitment pages and candidate FAQs, and PolicePay offers free practice tools including a STAR answer checker, an OAC readiness check and SJT practice. Free options cannot give you a human's opinion of your specific answer, which is the main thing paid coaching adds.

Do 'guaranteed pass' police courses really give refunds?

Read the conditions in writing before paying. Guarantees are typically conditional, for example on completing the programme, taking a set number of supported attempts, or providing evidence of the result. One provider's page we reviewed states there is no refund once digital materials have been accessed unless the programme is completed in full. Also check whether the guarantee covers every product or only some, because refund terms often differ between live courses, subscriptions and consultations.

Which stage of police recruitment benefits most from paid help?

Paid, human feedback is most useful for the live in-person interview (where panel follow-up questions matter), for competency interview answers you cannot objectively assess yourself, and for complex vetting histories where specialist advice on disclosure or appeals may help. It adds least for the fitness test, where training is physical and measurable, and for the application form, where official guidance and careful reading cover most needs.

Is Bluelight Consultancy worth it?

Bluelight Consultancy advertises one-to-one coaching from a team with policing backgrounds, a pass-or-refund guarantee, and a self-reported 90% pass rate. Its full recruitment programme prices are quoted on request; its page gives ranges of “several hundred to £1,000+” and “typically £1k–£2k”. Whether it is worth it depends on your budget, how much personal feedback you need, and the written guarantee conditions, which you should ask to see before paying.

Can an AI mock interview replace a human coach?

No. AI feedback can check structure against the published CVF, spot missing behaviours and 'we' versus 'I' language instantly, at low cost and as often as you like. It cannot replicate a live panel, read your body language or tone, or know how your force's assessors will actually mark. Many candidates get the best value from using AI or free tools for volume practice and a human mock for a final reality check.

What should I ask before paying for police interview coaching?

Ask for the total price including VAT, exactly what you receive and who delivers it, the written refund and guarantee conditions, how any pass rate is calculated and what it counts as a pass, how many people gave the testimonials, what happens if you cannot attend, and whether the coach has current knowledge of the England and Wales process. Our full checklist is on this page.

Sources and how we checked

Every price, refund term and claim about another business above comes from the pages listed here, fetched on 29 September 2026. Claims of pass rates and success are the providers' own. Pages can change or be A/B tested after that date, so confirm the current price and terms before you buy.

Not verified, so not relied on

  • College of Policing candidate guide pages (college.police.uk): access was blocked when we tried to fetch them on 29 September 2026. We refer readers to them but do not quote them.
  • Application review prices (for example a £150 figure that appeared in a search result): not confirmed on a fetched product page, so omitted.
  • Other private coaches and sites that did not load or only appeared in search snippets: omitted.
  • A Careers in Blue claim of success and the How2Become and Bluelight pass-rate figures: quoted as the providers' own claims, unaudited.

How to Pass the Police Interview

Practical CVF and STAR guide.

5 min read

CVF Examples and Questions

Level 1 behaviours and question bank.

5 min read

STAR Interview Answers

Structure your examples clearly.

5 min read

OAC Hub

Every stage of the Online Assessment Centre.

5 min read

National Sift Hub

SJT and behavioural styles questionnaire.

5 min read

Vetting Hub

Understand the security check process.

5 min read

Fitness Test Hub

Level 5.4 and training guides.

5 min read

Mock Interview Practice

Free practice and AI CVF feedback.

5 min read

Candidate Prep Bundles

Interview, vetting and fitness combined.

5 min read

Methodology and independence notice

This comparison is based on publicly available information on each provider's own website as at 29 September 2026. We did not purchase, attend or test any competitor's product, so we make no judgement on quality or effectiveness.

PolicePay sells competing AI preparation tools and is not affiliated with the College of Policing, the Home Office, any police force or any provider named. Recruitment processes vary by force, entry route and assessment provider. This page is general information, not financial, legal or recruitment advice, and no provider or tool, including ours, can guarantee a recruitment outcome.