Police Pay
PCSOs, special constables and police staff

Do PCSOs and Special Constables Take the Police Fitness Test?

Short answer

There is no national rule for either role, so your force decides. The College of Policing says testing special constables is a local decision and that no fitness standard exists for police staff roles, which includes PCSOs. In practice several forces we checked test both at the same standard as officer recruits: level 5.4 on the 15-metre bleep test (35 shuttles, 525 metres, about 3m 35s). The Met, North Yorkshire and Surrey test PCSOs; the Met, Hertfordshire and Thames Valley test specials.

Checked against each force's own recruitment page on 6 October 2026. Rules change, so confirm with the force you are applying to.

General training information, not medical advice. Stop if you feel pain, dizziness or chest discomfort, and see a GP before you start if you have a health condition, an injury or are pregnant. No tool can guarantee a pass.

Usual level

5.4

Where forces publish one

Shuttles

35

525 m in total

National PCSO standard

None

Force decision

Specials

Local

College: force decision

What the national guidance actually says

The fitness test most people mean is the job-related fitness test (JRFT): the 15-metre multi-stage shuttle run, better known as the bleep test. The College of Policing sets it as a requirement for police officer recruitment and for serving officers who do personal safety training. Its 2021 implementation guidance then deals with the two roles this page is about in two short sentences.

Special constables

The College says it "should be a local force decision" whether special constables who undertake personal safety training are tested. It adds that forces "must note that special constables are viewed as employees under the Police (Health and Safety) Act 1997".

PCSOs and other staff

The guidance "relates solely to fitness testing for police officers" and says no fitness testing standard has been developed for police staff roles. PCSOs are police staff: under section 38 of the Police Reform Act 2002 a chief officer designates an employee as a community support officer.

So for both roles the honest national answer is "it is up to the force". That is different from saying there is no test. Section 38(4) of the Police Reform Act says a chief officer must be satisfied that a PCSO is suitable, capable of carrying out the role and adequately trained before designating them. It does not mention fitness testing, but it leaves forces room to set their own entry checks, and several forces we checked use the officer test.

One piece of history explains why. The Winsor review's recommendation 33, which led to annual fitness testing, proposed a test "for all police officers and staff required to undertake personal safety training" at level 5:4 on a 15-metre shuttle run. PCSOs and some staff do take safety training. The College standard that followed was written for officers, but some forces apply the same test to PCSOs.

Who decides, role by role

The quickest way to see where the national rule stops and the force takes over.

Role National fitness requirement? Repeated each year? Who decides
Police officer (constable) Yes. Level 5.4 on the 15m shuttle run is a requirement for recruitment (College of Policing). Yes, for officers who do personal safety training, under College guidance. College sets the standard; the force runs the test.
Special constable No national requirement. College guidance says testing specials who do personal safety training is a local force decision. Local decision. Your force.
PCSO No. College guidance says no fitness testing standard has been developed for police staff roles, and PCSOs are police staff. Set by the force. Surrey's PCSO guide says the test is repeated in training and every year; BTP stopped requiring it for existing PCSOs in 2022. Your force.
Other police staff No national standard (same College line). Only where the force attaches a test to the role. Your force. The Met, for example, says designated detention officers (DDOs), like officers and PCSOs, must pass the test at entry, and that it does not apply to its police staff roles.

Sources: College of Policing implementation guidance for fitness testing (2021), pages 6 to 8; Surrey Police PCSO guide (July 2024); Metropolitan Police PCSO pages; BTP Federation (secondary). All read 6 October 2026.

What forces say: examples checked on 6 October 2026

We read each force's own recruitment page or PDF. This is a sample, not a full list of the 43 forces in England and Wales, and we only include a force where its own page says something about fitness for these roles. Where a page is silent on attempts we say so rather than guess.

Force Role What the force says Attempts Source
Metropolitan Police PCSO Job-related fitness test at point of entry: the 15m bleep test, 3 minutes 35 seconds and 525 metres (the 5.4 standard) Three in total: "If you fail on your first attempt, don't worry you can try twice more" Met PCSO pages: How to apply; Who we are looking for
Metropolitan Police Special constable Job-related fitness test, a multi-stage shuttle run to level 5.4, taken with the medical Not stated on the page Met special constables: Recruitment process
North Yorkshire Police PCSO Every potential PCSO takes the 15m bleep test and must reach level 5.4 Up to three attempts North Yorkshire Police: Fitness tips for PCSO candidates
Surrey Police PCSO Job-related fitness test, pass level 5.4; taken during the application, again in initial training and, in the guide's words, "on an annual basis once as an officer" Two retakes; if both are failed the application is rejected Surrey Police: A guide to becoming a PCSO (PDF, July 2024)
Hertfordshire Constabulary Special constable Bleep test to level 5.4 (35 shuttles, 3 minutes 35 seconds) as a pre-appointment check; bring photo ID Not stated on the page Herts: The application process to become a special constable
Thames Valley Police Special constable Level 5.4 on a bleep test, listed in the eligibility criteria and taken with the medical checks Not stated on the page Thames Valley Police careers: Special constables
Dorset Police (shared site with Devon and Cornwall) Special constable and PCSO Fitness page: 5.4 on the 15m test for police officers and special constables. The PCSO process page lists sift, interview, biometric vetting, drug test, medical and vetting, and does not list a fitness test Not stated Working in Partnership recruitment site: Fitness test; PCSO eligibility and recruitment process
British Transport Police Existing officers and PCSOs JRFT removed as a requirement for existing officers and PCSOs in August 2022; still mandatory for new recruits and specialist roles n/a BTP Federation chair's blog, 28 Feb 2024 (secondary source)

The pattern

Every force in our sample that publishes a level for PCSOs or specials uses 5.4 on the 15m test, the officer recruit standard. We found no lower PCSO or specials level.

The exception to watch

Dorset's PCSO process page lists a medical with lung function but no fitness test, while its fitness page names officers and specials. That may mean no PCSO test, or just a page that does not mention it. Ask.

After you join

Surrey repeats the test for PCSOs in training and every year. BTP dropped it for existing PCSOs and officers in 2022. Annual testing is a force choice for both roles.

If your force uses the bleep test, this is what you run

It is the same test whether you are applying as a constable, a special or a PCSO. You run between two lines 15 metres apart and must reach the line before the next bleep. The gap between bleeps shortens at each new level, so the pace rises from about 7.9 km/h at level 1 to about 9.9 km/h at level 5. To pass at 5.4 you stop after the fourth shuttle of level 5.

Level Seconds per shuttle About km/h Shuttles you run Running total Metres so far
1 6.83 7.9 7 7 105
2 6.36 8.5 8 15 225
3 6.11 8.8 8 23 345
4 5.75 9.4 8 31 465
5 5.43 9.9 4 35 525

Computed from the 15m protocol table the site uses. The College of Policing's own table rounds some times (it gives level 4 as 5.6 seconds), but both give 35 shuttles, 525 metres and about 3 minutes 35 seconds to 5.4. The full chart is on our bleep test levels page.

Worked example

Say your first practice run stops at 4.4. That is 27 shuttles, so you are 8 shuttles (120 metres) short of 5.4. The gap is bigger than it looks: the last 4 of those shuttles are at level 5, the fastest pace you need to run.

Special constables: what to expect

Specials are volunteer police officers, and most forces we checked treat them like officer recruits on fitness. The Met describes its 5.4 requirement for specials as the aerobic requirement of officer safety training. In the Met the fitness test sits in the health assessment stage with the medical, eyesight, hearing and blood pressure checks. In Hertfordshire it is one of the pre-appointment checks and you are asked to bring photo ID. In Thames Valley it is part of the medical checks, and the force says its dictation test is held at Sulhamstead on the day of the fitness test.

  • Same test, less training time. If you volunteer around a day job, the realistic constraint is evenings and weekends. Three short sessions a week you can actually keep beats a plan you abandon.
  • Taken early. The forces we checked put the test before training starts, so you need to be ready months before your first duty, not by the end of training.
  • Repeat tests are a force choice. The College leaves annual testing of specials to the force. Ask whether your force retests specials who keep their safety training current.

More on the role itself, hours and powers: special constable explained.

PCSOs: what to expect

PCSOs are police staff, not officers, which is why the national officer standard does not automatically apply to them. Forces still have reasons to test: PCSOs patrol on foot, and the Met's PCSO page links the test to public and personal safety training. North Yorkshire Police puts it plainly: as PCSOs go out on patrol, it is important they are fit enough to do the job.

  • When it happens. It varies. The Met puts it with the medical assessment, Surrey's guide lists it among the pre-employment checks after the interview, and North Yorkshire simply says every potential PCSO takes it during recruitment.
  • How many tries. The forces that publish this give three attempts in total (Met, North Yorkshire, Surrey). Surrey says it rejects the application after the second retake is failed.
  • After you are in post. Surrey repeats the test in initial training and annually. Other forces may not; BTP removed it for existing PCSOs in 2022.
  • Medical and BMI. Fitness and the medical are separate checks. Surrey, for example, assesses body composition when a PCSO applicant's BMI is above 32 (above 30 for officers and specials).

For the rest of the process see how to become a PCSO, and for the move to constable later, the PCSO to police officer pathway.

What about other police staff roles?

Most staff roles (call handling, investigation support, admin, forensics) have no fitness test because there is no national staff standard and the job does not involve safety training. Some designated roles do. The Met lists detention officers (DDOs) with PCSOs and officers as roles that must pass the JRFT at entry. If the advert mentions personal safety training, expect a fitness test to come with it, and ask.

Fitness test and medical are two different checks

A force can have no fitness test for a role and still run a full medical, which is easy to confuse. The examples below are what each force's own page lists.

Force and role Fitness test Medical checks named on the page
Met, special constable Yes, 5.4 Eyesight, hearing, blood pressure; DNA, fingerprints and substance misuse tests as further checks
Dorset, PCSO Not listed on the PCSO process page BMI, eyesight, colour vision, lung function, hearing, plus a medical history questionnaire
Surrey, PCSO Yes, 5.4 Medical with occupational health; body composition checked if BMI is above 32 for PCSOs (above 30 for officers and specials)

For the officer test, the College's guidance says every candidate must complete a medical screening questionnaire before the JRFT and a health declaration on the day. Its example questionnaire asks about pregnancy or giving birth in the last six months, injuries or conditions that could affect you, prescribed medication, and heart conditions; a yes leads to an occupational health referral to decide whether you can take the test. Expect something similar if your force tests PCSOs or specials, and answer it honestly: it exists to keep you safe.

How to prepare if your force tests you

Preparation is the same as for officer candidates, because the test is the same. Three things matter most: enough aerobic fitness to hold about 9.9 km/h in short bursts, turning on the line rather than past it, and not running the slow early levels too fast. The College's guidance notes that people with little experience of pacing tend to over-exert early in the test.

  1. Find your level first. Run the free 15m simulator on a measured course, or get a rough estimate from the readiness calculator.
  2. Give yourself time. joiningthepolice.co.uk recommends training for up to six weeks before the test. If you are starting from a low base, North Yorkshire Police suggests the NHS Couch to 5K programme first, which takes nine weeks or longer. See starting from zero.
  3. Practise turning. Treadmills and road runs build fitness but no turns. Mark out 15 metres and practise braking and pushing off on the line. Our training guide covers the method.
  4. Know the day. PT kit, grippy trainers, a warm-up the administrator may lead to the start of level 3. See the test day guide.

Three situations, worked through

Example situations to show how the local rules play out. They are illustrations, not real people or quotes.

Example 1: PCSO applicant, Surrey

You pass the interview and reach the pre-employment checks. Surrey's guide says the job-related fitness test is one of them, at 5.4. You stop at 4.8 on the first attempt: 31 shuttles, 4 short. You have two retakes left, and the guide says the application is rejected if both are failed.

What to do: ask when the retake is, then spend the gap on level 5 pace and turning rather than long slow runs. Remember Surrey also tests in training and every year, so the fitness you build now is not a one-off.

Example 2: special constable applicant with a knee problem

Your force lists 5.4 for specials, but braking and turning hurt your knee. The College's Chester treadmill tests exist for officers whose lower-limb injuries stop them doing the shuttle turns, and each force decides when to offer them.

What to do: declare the injury on the medical questionnaire, see a GP or physiotherapist before training on shuttles, and ask the force in writing whether it offers the treadmill test to special constable applicants. Do not assume it will. Our medical questions guide covers what to declare.

Example 3: serving PCSO applying to become a constable

Your force stopped retesting PCSOs, as BTP did for existing PCSOs in 2022, so you have not run a bleep test for years. Police officer recruitment includes the JRFT at 5.4 regardless, and the BTP Federation notes the test stayed mandatory for new recruits there.

What to do: run the free simulator now to see where you are. joiningthepolice.co.uk recommends training for up to six weeks before the test; if you are well short, start sooner.

Already serving as a special or PCSO?

The national annual retest applies to police officers who do personal safety training. For specials the College leaves it to the force, and for PCSOs there is no national standard at all. So whether you face a yearly bleep test depends entirely on your force's local policy, and on whether your role keeps safety training current.

If your force does retest you and you fail, ask for its written policy on support, retakes and occupational health referral. For regular officers the College says forces must offer support and at least two retakes; our annual fitness test guide covers that. Whether the same applies to specials or PCSOs is a local question, and your staff association or union can help.

Myths worth dropping

"PCSOs get an easier test."

Not in any force we checked. Where a PCSO level is published it is 5.4, the officer standard.

"Specials are volunteers, so there is no fitness test."

The Met, Hertfordshire and Thames Valley all require 5.4. The Met calls it the aerobic requirement of officer safety training.

"There is a national PCSO standard."

The College says none has been developed for staff roles. A force's rule is the only rule.

"Older applicants get a lower level."

No. The College says concessions for age or sex are "inappropriate and illegal". See the fitness test over 40.

"One fail and you are out."

Forces that publish this give three attempts in total. What happens after that is force policy; see what happens if you fail.

"A PCSO pass carries over if I become a PC."

We found no national rule saying so. Expect to take the officer test as part of that application.

Questions to ask your force

Because the rules are local, five questions to the recruitment team settle almost everything. Get the answers in writing if your plans depend on them.

  • 1.Is there a fitness test for this role, and is it the 15m shuttle run to 5.4?
  • 2.At what stage is it, and is it on the same day as anything else (interview, medical, dictation test)?
  • 3.How many attempts do I get, how far apart, and what happens after the last one?
  • 4.Is the test repeated in training or every year once I am in post?
  • 5.If I have an injury that affects turning, can you offer an alternative such as the treadmill test?
Fitness Pass Suite One payment, no subscription 14-day refund

Unprepared for the 15m Bleep Test?

Three tools built from your own answers for the police 15m bleep test (Level 5.4): a 6-week plan, a pass predictor and a weakness analysis. Practice aids, not a guarantee of a pass.

✓
AI 6-Week Pass Plan Written from your starting level, injuries and training days. PDF and calendar file.
✓
Weakness Analysis Your answers on pacing, turns and nerves, ranked into a fix order with drills.
✓
Pass Predictor A rough readiness estimate, weeks-to-go and the factor most likely to hold you back.
✓
One Payment No subscription, no expiry. Pay as a guest and start straight away; add a free account later.
★ Not what you expected? Full refund within 14 days, no reason needed: see the policy.

General training information, not medical advice. Stop if you feel pain, dizziness or chest discomfort, and see a GP before you start if you have a health condition, an injury or are pregnant. No tool can guarantee a pass.

One payment
£19.99
No subscription. Use the tools as often as you like.
See exactly what is included
Secure Stripe Checkout

PCSO and special constable fitness FAQ

Do PCSOs have to do a fitness test?

It depends on the force. The College of Policing says no fitness testing standard has been developed for police staff roles, and PCSOs are police staff, so there is no national PCSO test. Several forces set one anyway: the Metropolitan Police, North Yorkshire Police and Surrey Police all require PCSO applicants to pass the 15m bleep test at level 5.4.

Do special constables have to do the bleep test?

In most forces we checked, yes. College of Policing guidance says it is a local force decision whether special constables who do personal safety training are tested. The Metropolitan Police, Hertfordshire, Thames Valley and the Dorset and Devon and Cornwall recruitment site all list level 5.4 on the 15m test for specials.

What level do PCSOs need on the bleep test?

Where a force publishes a PCSO level it has been 5.4, the same as police officer recruits: 35 shuttles of 15 metres, 525 metres in about 3 minutes 35 seconds. We have not found a force that sets a lower PCSO level. Check your own force's advert, because there is no national PCSO rule.

Is the PCSO fitness test easier than the police officer test?

Not in the forces we checked. Where a PCSO standard is published it is the same 15m multi-stage test to level 5.4 that officer recruits take. A force could choose a different test or none, since there is no national PCSO standard, but do not assume it will be easier.

How many attempts do you get at the PCSO fitness test?

It is set by each force. The Metropolitan Police says you can try twice more after a first fail, North Yorkshire Police allows up to three attempts, and Surrey Police allows two retakes and then rejects the application. Ask your force how far apart the attempts are.

Do specials and PCSOs take the fitness test every year?

There is no national rule. The College says testing specials is a local decision and has no standard for police staff. Surrey's PCSO guide says the test is taken again in initial training and then annually, while British Transport Police stopped requiring it for existing officers and PCSOs in August 2022.

Why would a PCSO need to pass a fitness test?

Forces link it to safety training and the physical side of patrol. The Met's PCSO page says the core rationale is a minimum level of fitness to undertake public and personal safety training. The Police Reform Act 2002 also says a chief officer must be satisfied that a PCSO is capable of carrying out the role before designating them.

Is there an upper age limit or an age-adjusted test for specials and PCSOs?

There is no age-adjusted version of the bleep test; the College says concessions in the standard for age or sex are inappropriate and illegal. Several forces say there is no upper age limit for PCSOs or specials, including Surrey, Dorset and West Yorkshire for PCSOs and Thames Valley for specials. Our age-limit guide covers the rules.

If I pass the PCSO or special constable test, do I need to take it again to become a police officer?

Expect to take it again as part of police officer recruitment, since the officer test is a separate requirement for that application. We have not found a national rule letting a PCSO or special carry a pass across, so ask the force you are applying to.

Can I use the same training as police officer candidates?

Yes, if your force uses the 15m test to 5.4, because it is the same test. Practise on a measured 15-metre course or with the free simulator, build up gradually, and check what your force tells you about the venue and kit.

What if I have an injury that stops me turning?

Tell the force before the test. The College offers the Chester treadmill tests for officers whose lower-limb injuries stop them doing the shuttle turns, and leaves it to each force to decide when to offer them. Whether a force offers this to PCSO or special constable applicants is up to that force.

What we could not verify

  • A complete picture for all 43 forces. We checked the forces listed above only; others may test differently or not at all.
  • Whether Dorset tests PCSO applicants. Its PCSO process page lists no fitness test and its fitness page names only officers and specials. We have not asked the force.
  • Gaps between attempts for PCSOs and specials. None of the PCSO or specials pages we read gave a gap.
  • Whether any force lets a PCSO or special carry a fitness pass into police officer recruitment.
  • Whether the Met's age line on its PCSO page ("typically, the upper age limit is 57") reflects a current PCSO rule. Other forces say there is no upper age for PCSOs. We have left age to our age limit guide.
  • Whether Surrey retests PCSOs every year once in post. Its PCSO guide says the test is repeated "on an annual basis once as an officer", which may be wording shared with its officer material.
  • The Met PCSO page describes the test as 3 minutes 35 seconds and 525 metres on a 15m track rather than naming level 5.4; those figures are the 5.4 standard.
  • The BTP change comes from the BTP Federation, not a BTP policy document.
  • How the College's review of its fitness page for the new public and personal safety training curriculum (PPST) will affect any of this. No change to the 5.4 standard has been published.

Sources (all accessed 6 October 2026)

Continue your fitness preparation

PolicePay is an independent site, not affiliated with the College of Policing or any police force. Fitness rules for PCSOs and special constables are set locally; always confirm with your force. Last reviewed 6 October 2026.