Police Pay
Greater Manchester Police: Constable Recruitment

How To Join
Greater Manchester Police

Greater Manchester Police covers the ten boroughs of Greater Manchester with about 8,234 full-time equivalent officers, the second largest force in England and Wales. It recruits through two routes, the PC Entry Programme and the DC Entry Programme and told a freedom of information request in January 2026 that it planned to take on 500 officers in a year. This guide sets out what GMP has published and fills the gaps from the national process, saying clearly where GMP itself is silent.

Independent information, not advice · Sources checked 21 October 2026 · England and Wales unless stated

Short answer: how do you join Greater Manchester Police?

Apply through GMP's careers site for the PC Entry Programme (uniformed constable) or the DC Entry Programme (trainee detective). GMP says officer applications are open-ended. Then pass the College of Policing's National Sift and online assessment centre, an in-person interview with GMP, the bleep test to level 5.4, a medical and vetting. New constables usually start on £32,255 (pay point 1), with no location allowance in Greater Manchester.

Is Greater Manchester Police recruiting in 2026?

Yes, on two routes. GMP's careers site lists the PC Entry Programme and the DC Entry Programme for new officers, each with an apply link. In its freedom of information reply of 23 January 2026 GMP said: "Applications for Police Officer roles are open ended" (GMP FOI reply).

The College of Policing's national route lists, read on 21 October 2026, show:

  • Recruiting: PCEP (and detective entry on our 1 October reading).
  • Not recruiting: the degree apprenticeship (GMP is under "recruiting soon"), the degree holder route, the professional policing degree holder route and the rejoiner route.

Our GMP police jobs page shows each source with its date.

Recruitment window alerts

Tell me when GMP opens or closes a route

Choose up to three forces. We will email you when we see one of them open or close a constable route on its own site or the national list. Occasional emails, written by hand.

Your choices (1 of 3)

Sent by a person when a force opens, not on a schedule. We cannot see every force's own site, so check the force before you rely on it. Unsubscribe any time. See our privacy policy.

GMP's recruitment plan: 500 officers in a year

A freedom of information request in January 2026 asked GMP how many officers it planned to recruit over the next 12 months, on which routes and when. GMP's reply, dated 23 January 2026, said:

GMP's officer recruitment plan for the 12 months from January 2026 (FOI 01/FOI/26/016197/T)
QuestionGMP's answer
Total officer positions to recruit500
By routePCEP 300; detective programme 200
Recruitment windowsApplications for police officer roles are open-ended
Support for applicantsPreparation materials for each stage (the Code of Ethics principles, the CVF and College of Policing links) and awareness sessions at schools, colleges and community events

Two things follow for applicants. First, GMP does not run short windows the way some forces do, so you can apply when you are ready rather than rushing. Second, the detective programme is a large share of GMP's intake: two in every five planned places. If you have thought about investigation work, GMP is one of the forces where you can start there.

Entry routes into Greater Manchester Police

GMP entry routes and their status (GMP careers site and national lists read 21 October 2026)
RouteWhat it isStatus
PC Entry Programme (PCEP)GMP's main route for new constables: two years of training with no degree.On GMP's careers site; on the national PCEP list (21 October 2026)
DC Entry Programme (DCEP)Straight into detective training. GMP's page promises support to prepare for and pass the National Investigators' Exam and build a PIP2 portfolio.On GMP's careers site; GMP planned 200 detective places (FOI, January 2026)
Degree apprenticeship (PCDA)Three years with a funded degree.Not recruiting: GMP is under "recruiting soon" on the national apprenticeship list (21 October 2026)
Degree holder route (DHEP)For graduates in any subject.Not on the national degree holder list (21 October 2026)
Professional policing degree holderFor holders of the pre-join degree.Not on the national PPD list (21 October 2026)
Rejoiner (national list)For former officers.Not on the national rejoiner list, but GMP's careers site welcomes returning officers (see below)
  • PC Entry Programme: a two-year route with no degree. Read PCEP explained for the national requirements, including the level 3 qualification or equivalent experience most forces ask for.
  • DC Entry Programme: GMP's page says recruits learn to build and manage investigations, interview and analyse evidence and intelligence, supported by experienced supervisors and trainers. You will sit the National Investigators' Exam; see the NIE on direct entry detective routes and direct entry detective interview questions.

Want a degree paid for? The PCDA is not open at GMP right now, but it is at West Midlands, the Met and others. The free entry route quiz lists the forces open on each route that fits you.

Who can apply to GMP

GMP's careers site does not set out its eligibility rules on the pages we could read and its apply links lead to a portal that asks for a robot check. The national rules for every force in England and Wales apply:

Check GMP's own rules in the portal

Forces add their own rules on residence, driving licences, tattoos and applying to several forces at once. We could not read GMP's versions. Before you apply, open the PC Entry Programme or DC Entry Programme page on gmpcareers.co.uk, follow the apply link and read GMP's eligibility rules, or ask GMP's recruitment team. See also do you need a driving licence to join the police?

The GMP recruitment process at a glance

Since 17 March 2026 every constable candidate in England and Wales who is not a transferee must pass the National Sift, the online assessment process and an in-person interview with the force, then the force's own checks (Police Regulations 2003, reg 10(1)(eb), inserted by SI 2026/154). This is how that applies at GMP.

GMP constable selection: national stages and GMP's own
StageWhat happensRun byNotes
1Online application through GMP's portalGreater Manchester PoliceGMP says applications for officer roles are open-ended
2National Sift: situational judgement test and behavioural styles questionnaireCollege of Policing (online)GMP confirms the sift is run by the College
3Online assessment centre: interview, written exercise and briefing exerciseCollege of Policing (online)Assessed against the CVF at level 1
4In-person interview with GMPGreater Manchester PoliceRequired by law since 17 March 2026 (reg 10(1)(eb)); GMP does not describe its format publicly
5Fitness test (bleep test to 5.4), medical and vettingGreater Manchester PoliceOrder and timing not published on GMP's careers site
6Formal offer and start of trainingGreater Manchester Police

Stage 1: the application

You apply through GMP's application portal from the PC Entry Programme or DC Entry Programme page. The portal asks for a robot check before you can see the form. Expect questions on eligibility, education, your address history and declarations about convictions, debts and business interests.

  • Decide between uniform and detective entry before you start; they are separate applications.
  • Have five years of addresses, employment history and qualification certificates ready.
  • Declare everything the questions ask for. Vetting checks it again.
  • Ask for adjustments for the online tests at this stage if you need them.

Our police application form guide covers each section.

Stage 2: the National Sift

GMP confirmed in an earlier freedom of information reply that the National Sift is run by the College of Policing. It is an online test with a situational judgement test (SJT) and a behavioural styles questionnaire (BSQ), both scored against the Competency and Values Framework and combined into one result.

Read the National Sift explained and the BSQ explained, then practise. For tips and a plan, see how to pass the National Sift.

Want every stage covered in one payment? The Complete Candidate Journey (£99.99) includes the National Sift Prep Pass (£19.99 on its own), the online assessment and interview toolkit, the vetting readiness report and the Fitness Pass Suite. Try the free practice first.

Stage 3: the online assessment centre

The College of Policing's online assessment centre has three exercises at CVF level 1:

Try the free OAC readiness check and read how the OAC is marked.

Stage 4: the GMP interview

Every constable candidate must now pass an in-person interview with the force. GMP does not describe its interview on its careers site and when we checked on 1 October 2026 the old recruitment pages on gmp.police.uk pointed to the careers site instead. So we cannot tell you GMP's format, length or panel.

What the law and the national standard do tell you:

  • It is in person, with GMP, after you pass the online assessment.
  • It is held to the College of Policing's national standard of competencies and values (the CVF at level 1).
  • GMP's January 2026 FOI reply lists the Code of Ethics principles and the CVF among the preparation materials it gives candidates, so expect both to matter.

Prepare examples for each CVF competency and value and a clear answer to why GMP and why Greater Manchester. Practise out loud with the free mock interview and read CVF interview questions. For detective entry, also read direct entry detective interview questions. For what other forces publish about their interviews, see which police forces have a final interview.

Stage 5: fitness, medical and vetting

How long it takes to join GMP

GMP does not publish a timescale on its careers site. The national stages take a few weeks each and vetting usually takes longest. Because GMP's applications are open-ended, the start of the clock is up to you. Plan your own dates with the free recruitment timeline planner and read how long police recruitment takes.

Training and careers at GMP

GMP's careers site describes "excellent training and continual professional development" and nationally recognised qualifications, without giving course lengths. The PCEP is a two-year programme in the national framework, with assessed learning in the classroom and on the job. You are a sworn constable, paid from your first day.

The career paths GMP lists after training:

  • Neighbourhood policing.
  • Detective pathways: criminal investigations, public protection, cyber and digital investigations, major crime and serious and organised crime.
  • Specialist operations: firearms, roads policing, the dog unit, the mounted unit, the tactical aid unit and public order.

GMP also says flexible working is available depending on the role. Read police training: what to expect.

GMP pay and take-home in 2026

GMP pays the national constable scale, which rose by 3.5% from 1 September 2026 (HCWS264). Greater Manchester has no London or South East allowance. New constables normally start on point 1 (£32,255). Since April 2025 chief officers may start all new constables on point 2 (£33,609); GMP does not say on its careers site which it uses, so check the salary on your advert.

GMP constable pay from 1 September 2026 (post-2013 scale, no location allowance)
Pay pointBasic salaryTake-home a month (estimate)
1 (the usual start)£32,255£1,952
2£33,609£2,021
3£34,972£2,091
4£36,335£2,161
5£39,058£2,275
6£44,544£2,554
7£52,015£2,942
  • Take-home at point 1: about £1,952 a month after income tax, National Insurance and a 12.88% pension contribution (2026/27, standard tax code, no student loan).
  • Progression: one point a year to £52,015 at point 7.
  • Extras: overtime and unsocial hours at national rates. See police overtime rates explained.
  • Promotion: sergeant pay starts at £55,443 on the national scale.

Work out your own figure with the police salary calculator and see the full scale on our GMP pay page.

GMP compared with other large forces

Compare any forces after tax with the free starting pay by force tool.

GMP or West Midlands: which suits you?

The two forces are almost the same size and pay the same national scale with no location allowance, so applicants often weigh one against the other. The differences are in the routes and the rules:

GMP and West Midlands Police compared (sources as listed on each guide, national lists read 21 October 2026)
Greater Manchester PoliceWest Midlands Police
Officers (FTE, 31 March 2026)8,2348,174
Routes on the national listsPCEP (detective entry on our 1 October reading)PCEP, PCDA, DHEP, PPD holder, rejoiner (detective entry on our 1 October reading)
Degree apprenticeship open?No ("recruiting soon")Yes
Detective entryDC Entry Programme; 200 places plannedDCEP and detective DHEP
Applying to other forcesNot stated on GMP's careers pagesOne force at a time
Final interviewIn-person force interview (format not published)Strengths-based interview
Upper age limitNot stated on GMP's careers pagesNone
Location allowanceNoneNone

If you want a funded degree, West Midlands has the PCDA open and GMP does not. If you want to start as a detective, both have a route and GMP has planned a large number of places. Read how to join West Midlands Police for the full WMP process.

GMP in numbers

Home Office workforce statistics for 31 March 2026 (published 22 July 2026):

Greater Manchester Police workforce, 31 March 2026 (Home Office)
MeasureFigure
Police officers (full-time equivalent)8,234
Officers joining in the year to 31 March 2026 (FTE, excluding transfers)621
Joiner rate7.5%
Officers leaving in the year (FTE, excluding transfers)486
Of whom resigned (FTE)222
Special constables (headcount)151
PCSOs (FTE)277

GMP is the second largest force in England and Wales, just ahead of West Midlands (8,174 FTE). See our police workforce statistics for every force.

A preparation plan for GMP

Suggested preparation, by stage
WhenWhat to doFree help on PolicePay
Before applyingChoose uniform or detective entry; read the eligibility rules in GMP's portalEntry route quiz
Before the siftPractise situational judgement scenarios and read the CVFSJT practice
Before the OACWrite six to eight STAR examples; practise written and briefing tasksSTAR answer checker
Before the GMP interviewPrepare CVF examples, read the Code of Ethics and practise out loudMock interview
ThroughoutTrain to level 5.4 on a 15 metre courseBleep test training plan
Before vettingGather documents and be ready to explain debts or historyVetting evidence builder

The free mock interview gives scored answers every day. The 90-day Mock Interview Pass (£39.99) adds a full critique and a model rewrite if you want more practice before the GMP interview.

Specials, rejoiners and transferees

  • Special constables. GMP had about 151 specials at 31 March 2026. Specials now sit the National Sift too. See the special constable guide.
  • Returning officers. GMP was not on the national rejoiner list on 21 October 2026, but its careers site has a "Transfer and Return to GMP" section that welcomes returnees. Read rejoining the police.
  • Transferees. When we checked on 19 October 2026, GMP was inviting transferees for roles including the transport policing command, detective constables, neighbourhood constables and sergeants, authorised firearms officers and firearms instructors. See forces recruiting transferees.

Policing Greater Manchester: what to expect

GMP polices Greater Manchester's ten boroughs: Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan. It is a large, mainly urban force covering a major city centre, Manchester Airport and a busy transport network and its transferee adverts include roles in a Transport Policing and Crime Command.

  • Postings. You can be posted anywhere in the force area. Ask at interview how GMP decides postings for new constables if travel matters to you.
  • Career choice later. GMP's careers site lists neighbourhood, detective and specialist operations pathways, so the route you join on does not fix your whole career.
  • Shift work. Expect a 24-hour rota once you are posted. See the shift work survival guide.

Questions worth asking GMP before you accept an offer:

  • Where are new constables on my route usually posted and can I state a preference?
  • How long is initial training, where is it held and is any of it residential?
  • How does tutoring work in my first months on a team?
  • For detective entry: when would I sit the NIE and what study time is given?

For the other forces in the region see North West police jobs.

The DC Entry Programme in detail

GMP planned 200 detective programme places in the year from January 2026, two in every five of its planned officer places (FOI reply). Its DC Entry Programme page says trainees are supported by a dedicated team of experienced supervisors and trainers and learn to:

  • build and manage investigations;
  • interview and analyse evidence and intelligence;
  • make decisions under pressure and work with partner agencies;
  • prepare for and pass the National Investigators' Exam (NIE);
  • build a portfolio for PIP2 accreditation.

The NIE is a demanding legal knowledge exam. Read how hard the NIE is, the NIE on direct entry routes and PIP1 vs PIP2 explained. Pay is the constable scale; for later ranks see detective ranks and salaries.

GMP does not say on the pages we read whether the DC Entry Programme needs a degree. Many forces' detective entry routes do; check the eligibility rules behind GMP's apply link.

Positive action at GMP

GMP's careers site says it uses positive action, as permitted under the Equality Act 2010, to encourage applications from under-represented groups. Positive action means extra support and outreach before and during the process, such as awareness sessions and preparation help. It does not lower the standard: every candidate must still pass the same National Sift, online assessment centre, interview and checks.

GMP's January 2026 FOI reply describes awareness programmes at schools, colleges and community events. If you belong to a group GMP is trying to reach, ask its recruitment team what support is running when you apply.

Reasonable adjustments

If you have a disability, a neurodivergent condition such as dyslexia or ADHD, or a health condition that affects how you sit a test, ask for reasonable adjustments when you apply. The College of Policing runs the online sift and assessment centre, so adjustments for those stages are arranged with your invitation; GMP arranges adjustments for its interview and the fitness test.

If you are unsuccessful

GMP's applications are open-ended, so you do not have to wait for a new window to try again, but national resit periods still apply to the sift and the online assessment centre.

Your GMP application checklist

Before you apply to GMP
CheckWhy it matters
You have chosen PCEP or DC entryThey are separate applications with separate places (300 and 200 in GMP's plan)
You have read GMP's eligibility rules behind the apply linkGMP does not publish them on its careers pages
Five years of addresses and employment readyVetting checks your history; gaps cause delay
Qualification certificates to handYou will be asked to prove the level your route needs
You have started training for level 5.4The fitness test comes after the interview
You have read the Code of Ethics and the CVFGMP lists both among its preparation materials
You know which other forces you have applied toForces set their own rules on parallel applications; ask GMP

For what to wear and bring on the day, see police interview dress code and what to bring.

Common mistakes GMP applicants make

  • Waiting for a window. GMP says officer applications are open-ended; you do not need to wait.
  • Looking for a degree apprenticeship at GMP. It is not recruiting on the PCDA at the moment. Choose PCEP, DC entry or another force.
  • Not reading GMP's own eligibility rules. They are not on the careers pages, so read them in the application portal or ask GMP.
  • Treating the force interview as a formality. It is now a legal stage.
  • Leaving fitness and vetting paperwork to the end. They cause most of the delays.

What we could not verify

GMP publishes little process detail outside its application portal. We could not confirm on 21 October 2026:

  • GMP's eligibility rules on residence, driving licences, tattoos and applying to several forces.
  • Whether the DC Entry Programme needs a degree.
  • The format, length and panel of GMP's in-person interview.
  • The order and timing of fitness, medical and vetting.
  • Where and for how long initial training runs.
  • Whether GMP starts new constables on pay point 1 or point 2.
  • Whether GMP was on the national detective entry list on 21 October 2026 (that page returned an error; it was on 1 October).

If GMP's portal or a current advert says otherwise, GMP's version wins.

Quick answers

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Greater Manchester Police recruiting?

Yes. GMP's careers site lists two officer entry routes, the PC Entry Programme and the DC Entry Programme and in a freedom of information reply of 23 January 2026 GMP said applications for police officer roles are open-ended. On 21 October 2026 the College of Policing's national list showed GMP recruiting on PCEP but not on the degree apprenticeship, degree holder, professional policing degree holder or rejoiner routes.

How many officers is GMP recruiting?

In its freedom of information reply dated 23 January 2026, GMP said it intended to recruit 500 police officers over the following 12 months: 300 through the PCEP and 200 through the detective programme.

What is the starting salary for Greater Manchester Police?

£32,255 a year on pay point 1 of the national constable scale from 1 September 2026, the usual start for new constables. Greater Manchester has no location allowance. After tax, National Insurance and pension that is roughly £1,952 a month. GMP does not publish a salary figure on its careers site, so check the advert for your route.

Does GMP offer the police degree apprenticeship?

Not at the moment. On 21 October 2026 the College of Policing's national apprenticeship list showed GMP under "recruiting soon", meaning not currently recruiting on that route. GMP's own careers site lists only the PC Entry Programme and the DC Entry Programme for new officers.

Can I join GMP as a detective?

Yes. GMP's DC Entry Programme takes you straight into detective training, with support to prepare for and pass the National Investigators' Exam and build a portfolio for PIP2 accreditation. GMP planned 200 detective programme places in the year from January 2026.

Does GMP have a final interview?

Every police constable applicant in England and Wales who is not a transferee must now pass an in-person interview with the force (Police Regulations 2003, reg 10(1)(eb), from 17 March 2026). GMP's careers site does not describe the format of its interview, so expect a CVF-based interview and check your invitation for details.

Is GMP bigger than West Midlands Police?

Yes, slightly. At 31 March 2026 GMP had about 8,234 full-time equivalent officers and West Midlands about 8,174, according to Home Office workforce statistics. That makes GMP the second largest force in England and Wales after the Metropolitan Police.

Can I transfer or return to GMP?

Yes. GMP's careers site has a "Transfer and Return to GMP" section that welcomes transferees and returnees. When we checked on 19 October 2026 it was inviting transferees for roles including the transport policing command, detective constables, neighbourhood constables and sergeants, authorised firearms officers and firearms instructors.

What help does GMP give applicants?

GMP's freedom of information reply of January 2026 said it provides preparation materials for each stage, such as the Code of Ethics principles, the Competency and Values Framework and links to the College of Policing's national processes and runs awareness sessions at schools, colleges and community events. GMP also uses positive action, as the Equality Act 2010 permits, to encourage applications from under-represented groups.

Evidence

Sources and how we checked them

Every factual claim on this page was written from the sources below, read on 21 October 2026. Rules and figures change, so check the source for the date you are reading this. Where we could not confirm something from an official or independent source, the page says so rather than guessing. Spotted something out of date? See our corrections policy.

  1. GMP Careers: home and police officers pages (read 21 October 2026) : two entry routes (PC Entry Programme and DC Entry Programme); career pathways; positive action; flexible working depending on role (accessed 21 October 2026)
  2. GMP Careers: PC Entry Programme (read 21 October 2026) : route exists with an apply link to the portal; no stages, pay or eligibility published on the page (accessed 21 October 2026)
  3. GMP Careers: DC Entry Programme (read 21 October 2026) : support to prepare for and pass the NIE; PIP2 portfolio (accessed 21 October 2026)
  4. GMP Careers: Transfer and Return to GMP (read 21 October 2026; roles via the transferee tracker, 19 October 2026) : welcomes transferees and returnees; role list (accessed 21 October 2026)
  5. GMP freedom of information reply 01/FOI/26/016197/T (23 January 2026) : 500 officers planned over 12 months: PCEP 300, detective programme 200; applications open-ended; preparation materials and outreach (accessed 21 October 2026)
  6. GMP freedom of information reply GSA 3074.23 (July 2023) : application form run by GMP using College of Policing guidance; National Sift run by the College of Policing (accessed 21 October 2026)
  7. College of Policing: forces recruiting via PCEP (read 21 October 2026) : GMP listed (accessed 21 October 2026)
  8. College of Policing: forces recruiting via the apprenticeship route (read 21 October 2026) : GMP under "recruiting soon" (accessed 21 October 2026)
  9. College of Policing: forces recruiting via the degree holder route (read 21 October 2026) : GMP not listed (accessed 21 October 2026)
  10. College of Policing: forces recruiting via the professional policing degree holder route (read 21 October 2026) : GMP not listed (accessed 21 October 2026)
  11. College of Policing: forces recruiting via the rejoiner route (read 21 October 2026) : GMP not listed (accessed 21 October 2026)
  12. Police Regulations 2003, regulation 10 : reg 10(1)(eb): four recruitment stages including an in-person force interview (accessed 21 October 2026)
  13. SI 2026/154 (Recruitment Standards) Regulations 2026 : inserted reg 10(1)(eb) from 17 March 2026 (accessed 21 October 2026)
  14. Written ministerial statement HCWS264 (15 July 2026) : 3.5% award from 1 September 2026 (accessed 21 October 2026)
  15. Home Office: Police workforce, England and Wales, 31 March 2026 : officer numbers, joiners, leavers, resignations, specials and PCSOs (via src/data/police-workforce-2026.ts) (accessed 21 October 2026)
Related Guides

On this topic elsewhere

How to join the largest forces

More in this guide series

Also on PolicePay

Free tools for applicants

Disclaimer

PolicePay.co.uk is an independent guide. It is not affiliated with any police force, the College of Policing or the Home Office and it does not recruit, vet or assess applicants. Each force sets its own recruitment windows, local stages and eligibility details and changes them between campaigns: check the force's own recruitment pages and your invitation before relying on anything here. Practice material on this site is original PolicePay material, not questions used by any force. Details are as checked on 21 October 2026.