BTP Training
and Probation
How British Transport Police trains new constables: the two-year Police Constable Entry Programme, about 33 weeks of initial training from April 2027, BTP's London training centre, accommodation by division, fitness retests, the Scotland route and probation.
Independent information, not advice · Sources checked 23 October 2026 · Great Britain unless stated
New BTP constables in England and Wales join the two-year Police Constable Entry Programme (PCEP), not the PCDA or DHEP. From April 2027 the initial training lasts about 33 weeks at BTP's training centre in London, with no annual leave during training. Accommodation depends on your posting: none for Inner London, on request for Outer London, arranged for C Division and residential in Scotland, where recruits train at the Scottish Police College. Probation is two years.
BTP training at a glance
- Route: the Police Constable Entry Programme (PCEP), two years, no degree.
- Initial training: about 33 weeks from April 2027, in classroom, online, scenario-based and operational settings.
- Where: BTP's training centre in London (England and Wales); the Scottish Police College (Scotland).
- Accommodation: depends on your division; none for Inner London postings.
- Leave: none during the training and on-area phases.
- Fitness: 5.4 bleep test again in week one, at Personal Safety Training and during probation.
- Pay: £33,609 from the start, plus £9,044.75 from day one in Inner London.
- Probation: two years; specialist roles only after that.
BTP's recruit pages call it "our training centre in London" and do not give an address. We explain below what is and is not published about it.
The PCEP: BTP's route for new constables
BTP's live campaigns recruit new constables through the Police Constable Entry Programme (PCEP). The Inner London advert calls it "British Transport Police's non-degree entry route for Police Officers". The South East advert says you do not need a degree to apply and will not be required to complete one as part of the programme. BTP's role page calls it a "two-year programme" that leads to Full Operational Competence, then Established Practitioner Status.
| England and Wales | Scotland (D Division) | |
|---|---|---|
| Programme | Police Constable Entry Programme (PCEP), BTP's "non-degree entry route for Police Officers" | Two-year Modern Apprenticeship leading to an SCQF Level 7 Certificate in Policing |
| Overall length | Two years, leading to Full Operational Competence, then Established Practitioner Status | Two years |
| Degree needed? | No: no degree is needed to apply or completed as part of the programme | No |
| Initial training | About 33 weeks from April 2027 (Inner London advert) | 12 weeks at the Scottish Police College, then 4 weeks of local training |
| Where | BTP's training centre in London | The Scottish Police College |
| Residential? | Depends on your division (see below) | Yes, with accommodation provided |
| Open campaign on 23 October 2026 | Yes, in several locations | No |
BTP does not offer the Police Constable Degree Apprenticeship (PCDA) or the Degree Holder Entry Programme (DHEP): no vacancy for either was open on 23 October 2026. Its Graduate Programme page is still online but quotes 2024/25 pay and no vacancy uses it, so do not treat it as an open route.
How long BTP initial training lasts
The newest source is the Inner London advert (BTP/674/1736, posted September 2026): "From April 2027, the initial training programme will last approximately 33 weeks", combining classroom, online, scenario-based learning and operational experience. Inner London intakes from that campaign start from April 2027.
That is about 8.25 of BTP's four-week pay periods, or a little under eight months. The PCEP itself runs for two years, so initial training is roughly the first third of it. BTP says the two years lead to Full Operational Competence, then Established Practitioner Status.
BTP has not said whether the 33 weeks includes any time on area (working at your station with support) or comes before it. Ask at a recruitment Q&A session or at conditional offer.
33 weeks or 18 weeks? BTP's two descriptions
You will see two different lengths online, both from BTP. BTP's own pages disagree because the course is changing:
| Newest source: Inner London advert (September 2026) | Older source: recruitment pack (October 2025) | |
|---|---|---|
| Initial training length | "From April 2027, the initial training programme will last approximately 33 weeks" | "18 weeks training at our training centre in London" |
| After that | Not stated whether the 33 weeks includes time on area | A further 8 weeks on area |
| How it is delivered | Classroom, online, scenario-based learning and operational experience | At least 30 days delivered remotely |
| Leave inside the course | Not stated | 2 weeks of pre-scheduled leave inside the 18 weeks |
| Which applies to you | April 2027 intakes from the current campaigns | Older intakes |
For anyone applying to a current campaign, the newer figure is the one to plan around: about 33 weeks from April 2027. Do not rely on the 18-week figure for a 2027 intake.
The London training centre
BTP's recruitment pack says police officers train at "our training centre in London". It applies to recruits for both B Division (London and the South East) and C Division (Midlands, North, Wales and West). Recruits for Scotland train at the Scottish Police College instead.
BTP's recruit pages do not give the address. A live BTP advert for a recruit trainer gives a London office address, but no BTP recruit page says that is where recruits train, so we do not state it. Your joining instructions will name the venue.
Transferees do their 4-week induction at the same London training centre, according to BTP's transferee pack.
Accommodation depends on your division
Whether BTP provides somewhere to stay during training depends on where you will be posted. From BTP's recruitment pack:
| Your posting | Accommodation during initial training | Source |
|---|---|---|
| B Division, Inner London | "Accommodation is not available": you commute to training | BTP recruitment pack |
| B Division, Outer London | Not automatic. You may request it at formal offer; not guaranteed | BTP recruitment pack |
| C Division (Midlands, North, Wales and West) | Arranged "during the required in-person weeks" in London | BTP recruitment pack |
| D Division (Scotland) | "This is a residential course" with accommodation provided | BTP recruitment pack |
So an Inner London recruit commutes to training from home every day, while a recruit posted to Birmingham or Truro has accommodation arranged for the weeks they must attend in person. If you are posted to Outer London and need accommodation, ask for it at formal offer and have a back-up plan, because BTP does not guarantee it. See BTP divisions and postings for which stations sit where.
No annual leave during training
BTP's recruitment pack says annual leave is not permitted during the training phase or the on-area phase. The older pack built 2 weeks of pre-scheduled leave into its 18-week course, which BTP fixes rather than you choosing; the newer 33-week description does not mention leave.
Once you are through training, BTP's role page gives 22 days of annual leave a year, rising to 25 days after two years and up to 30 days with 20 years' service.
If you have a wedding, a holiday or a family event coming up, check it against the intake date before you accept. Moving it later may not be possible.
Fitness retests during training and probation
The 15-metre bleep test to level 5.4 is not a one-off. BTP says you take it at the assessment centre and again in training:
| When | What BTP says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment centre | 15-metre bleep test to level 5.4. A maximum of 3 attempts, passed within 6 months of the pre-conditional offer, otherwise reapply | BTP role page; recruitment pack |
| First week of training | Tested again | BTP role page; recruitment pack |
| Start of the Personal Safety Training module | Tested again | BTP role page; recruitment pack |
| During the two-year probation | Probationers take 5.4 bleep tests | BTP role page |
| After probation | BTP's 2024 FOI answer: the test is only mandatory for new recruits in initial training and for officers in specialist roles (such as Taser, PSU level 2, dog handlers and firearms). BTP's FAQ says annually; we give the FOI position | BTP FOI 01/FOI/24/2523; BTP FAQs |
BTP's FOI answer for March 2023 to February 2024 recorded 175 probationer fitness tests with 172 passes (98.29%). Those are serving probationers, not applicants; BTP does not publish applicant pass rates.
See our BTP fitness test guide and practise with the 15m bleep test simulator.
Railway policing and track safety
BTP training includes railway-specific subjects. BTP's Scotland training list names railway policing and personal track safety alongside first aid and personal safety training. BTP's transferee induction covers railway legislation, BTP systems and track safety.
BTP does not publish a detailed syllabus for the England and Wales course beyond describing it as classroom, online, scenario-based learning and operational experience, with a Personal Safety Training module. We have not listed modules BTP has not named.
The Scotland route: the Scottish Police College
BTP's Scotland officers are in D Division and train differently from England and Wales recruits. BTP's role page describes a two-year Modern Apprenticeship:
| Element | What BTP's role page says |
|---|---|
| Qualification | SCQF Level 7 Certificate in Policing, through a two-year Modern Apprenticeship |
| Phase 1 | 12 weeks at the Scottish Police College |
| Phase 2 | 4 weeks of local training |
| Then | Work-based learning |
| Topics named | Scots criminal law, railway policing, personal track safety, first aid and personal safety training |
| Accommodation | Residential, with accommodation provided (recruitment pack) |
| Probation | 5.4 bleep tests, "an oral exam and an open distance learning exam" and a CVF evidence portfolio |
BTP's role page describes the oral exam, the open distance learning exam and the evidence portfolio for Scotland; it does not say whether England and Wales probationers sit the same exams. No new-recruit campaign for Scotland was open on 23 October 2026. Police Scotland is a separate force; if you are weighing both, see our Police Scotland training guide.
From offer to day one
Training starts only after the offer stages. BTP describes them like this:
| Step | What BTP says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Conditional offer | You "remain in the recruitment pool until an intake is identified" for you, for up to 12 months | BTP role page; adverts |
| Vetting forms | Sent only when there is a target start date | BTP FAQs; recruitment pack |
| References | Cover five years and are only taken up after an offer | BTP guidance page; FAQs |
| Medical | By a doctor or registered nurse: eyesight, hearing, blood pressure, body mass and a drugs and alcohol test | BTP guidance page; recruitment pack |
| Formal offer | Your offer letter or contract once the security checks are complete. Your posting is then fixed | BTP guidance page; recruitment pack |
| Your current job | Do not resign until you hold the formal offer | BTP FAQs |
| Day one | Training starts; pay starts; fitness retest in the first week | BTP role page |
BTP says the process "can take a considerable amount of time before joining an intake", so expect a wait between the conditional offer and your start date. Use it to get fitter than level 5.4 and to sort out money, travel and childcare for the course. Our BTP vetting guide and BTP medical standards guide cover the checks.
Pay while you train
You are paid from the start. New recruits are on pay point 2 (£33,609 in 2026/27) and BTP says Inner London recruits get the London Allowance and London Weighting "from day 1 of training". BTP pays every four weeks in arrears, so the gross figures look like this:
| Point 2 only | Point 2 plus Inner London allowances (£9,044.75) | |
|---|---|---|
| A year (2026/27) | £33,609 | £42,653.75 |
| Gross per four-week period (/13) | £2,585.31 | £3,281.06 |
| Over about 33 weeks of initial training | About £21,329 | About £27,069 |
These are gross figures before tax, National Insurance, the pension contribution and the Federation subscription. For take-home, use the BTP take-home pay calculator. South East recruits get their station's South East Allowance; see BTP pay scales and allowances.
Training pay by where you will be posted
Your station's allowance is paid on top of basic pay. Assuming it is paid throughout training (BTP says so in terms only for Inner London), the gross figures at 2026/27 rates are:
| Posted to | Point 2 plus allowance, a year | Gross per four-week period | Over about 33 weeks |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inner London (within 16 miles of Charing Cross) | £42,653.75 | £3,281.06 | About £27,069 |
| South East top tier (£3,105) | £36,714 | £2,824.15 | About £23,299 |
| South East middle tier (£2,000) (uprating not stated by BTP) | £35,609 | £2,739.15 | About £22,598 |
| South East lower tier (£1,000) (uprating not stated by BTP) | £34,609 | £2,662.23 | About £21,963 |
| Elsewhere in England, Wales or Scotland (no location allowance) | £33,609 | £2,585.31 | About £21,329 |
Because pay is four-weekly in arrears, paid within seven days of the end of each period, your first pay day can be up to about five weeks after you start. BTP does not publish its pay calendar, so ask.
Worked example: an April 2027 Inner London intake
An illustration for someone who applies to the current Inner London campaign. BTP has published only "from April 2027" for the start, so the later dates are our arithmetic and assume no breaks:
| Milestone | Illustrative date | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Campaign closes | 1 November 2026 (Inner London) | Advert 1736 |
| Conditional offer pool | Up to 12 months | Adverts; you wait until an intake is identified |
| Training starts | April 2027 (exact date not published) | Advert 1736: intakes from April 2027 |
| End of about 33 weeks | About late November 2027 if the course started in early April | PolicePay arithmetic, assuming no breaks |
| 2027 pay award | Date and amount not yet known | The 2026 award applied from September 2026 |
| Step to point 3 | About April 2028, after a year's service | BTP: pay rises year on year |
| End of the two-year PCEP and probation | About April 2029 | BTP: two-year programme and probation |
Two pay changes fall inside this window that are not in the pay table above: the September 2027 pay award and your step to point 3 after a year. Neither amount is known yet.
The two-year probation
BTP's FAQs give a two-year probation for police officers, matching the two-year PCEP. What BTP publishes about it:
- Fitness: 5.4 bleep tests during probation.
- Assessment: for Scotland, BTP's role page describes "an oral exam and an open distance learning exam" plus a portfolio of evidence against the Competency and Values Framework.
- Leave: 22 days a year until you reach two years' service, then 25.
- Specialist roles: only after the two-year probation, according to BTP's FAQs.
- Pay: rises year on year from point 2; you reach point 4 around the end of probation.
Training for transferees, PCSOs and Specials
Other routes into BTP have much shorter initial training:
| Route | Initial training | Probation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Transferee constable | 4 weeks at the London training centre: railway legislation, BTP systems and track safety. Accommodation for C Division postings | 6 or 12 months | Transferee pack; transferees page |
| BTP Returner (left within 12 months) | Straight back to division | Not stated | Returner page; advert 991 |
| BTP Returner (after 12 months, or from another force) | 4-week induction in London | Not stated | Returner page; advert 991 |
| PCSO | 8 weeks in London, then 4 weeks on area with a tutor PCSO | One year | PCSO page; FAQs |
| Special Constable | "24 days initial training" on the SPC PEQF course | Not covered here | Specials page |
Transferees keep their pay point and increment date. See our BTP transferee guide, the BTP PCSO guide (PCSOs start on £29,483.96) and BTP Special Constables.
How to prepare for BTP training
BTP does not publish a preparation guide for training, so these are our suggestions, each tied to a published rule:
| Area | Our suggestion | Why (from BTP's published rules) |
|---|---|---|
| Fitness | Train past level 5.4, not to it | You are retested in week one and at the start of Personal Safety Training, then during probation |
| Money | Hold back enough to cover about five weeks before the first pay day | BTP pays every four weeks in arrears, within seven days of the end of each period |
| Holidays and events | Book nothing during the training and on-area phases | BTP's pack says annual leave is not permitted then |
| Travel | Plan the daily commute if you are posted to Inner London | Accommodation is not available for Inner London postings |
| Your job | Do not resign until you hold the formal offer | BTP's FAQs |
| Paperwork | Keep five years of employment history and three years of addresses to hand | References cover five years; vetting needs three years of UK addresses |
Five example recruits
| Recruit | What BTP's published rules mean for their training |
|---|---|
| Inner London, parent of young children | No accommodation for Inner London postings, so you commute daily. No annual leave during training, so plan childcare for the whole course before you accept the intake. |
| C Division, from Truro or Leicester | BTP arranges accommodation for the in-person weeks in London. Ask how many weeks are in person and how travel to London works. |
| Career changer with a mortgage | Pay is four-weekly in arrears, so the first pay day can be about five weeks after you start. Hold a cash buffer and budget on the four-weekly figure. |
| Outer London, long commute | You may request accommodation at formal offer, but it is not guaranteed. Have a plan that works without it. |
| Applicant hoping for Scotland | The Scotland route is residential at the Scottish Police College, but no Scotland campaign was open on 23 October 2026. Watch the vacancies portal. |
Questions to ask BTP before you start
- Does the 33-week initial training include any weeks on area?
- What is the start date of my intake and where exactly is the training centre?
- If I am posted to Outer London, how likely is training accommodation?
- When is my first pay day and is the first period paid pro rata?
- What are the training hours each day and is any of it delivered remotely?
- Which exams and assessments make up probation in England and Wales?
BTP's online recruitment Q&A sessions are listed on our BTP campaigns page.
Myths and facts about BTP training
| You may have read | What BTP's own sources say |
|---|---|
| BTP recruits through the PCDA or DHEP | No. The live route is the PCEP, a non-degree two-year programme. No PCDA or DHEP vacancy was open on 23 October 2026. |
| BTP training is 18 weeks | That is the October 2025 pack. The Inner London advert says about 33 weeks from April 2027. |
| BTP trains at Holloway Road | BTP's recruit pages say "our training centre in London" without an address. A Holloway Road address appears on a trainer advert only. |
| You can book a holiday during training | BTP's pack says annual leave is not permitted during the training phase and the on-area phase. |
| Everyone gets accommodation | Not for Inner London postings; on request (not guaranteed) for Outer London; arranged for C Division in-person weeks; provided in Scotland. |
| Once you pass the bleep test you are done | You are retested in week one, at the start of Personal Safety Training and during probation. |
| Scotland recruits train in London | They train at the Scottish Police College on a Modern Apprenticeship. |
| You can go straight into a specialist role | BTP's FAQs: specialist roles only after the two-year probation. |
What we could not verify
- Whether the 33-week initial training from April 2027 includes on-area weeks.
- The address of BTP's London training centre.
- Intake dates other than "from April 2027" for the Inner London campaign.
- A detailed syllabus for the England and Wales course.
- Whether England and Wales probationers sit the same exams BTP describes for Scotland.
- Daily training hours and how much is remote under the 33-week course.
- How often Outer London accommodation requests are granted.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long is BTP police training?
BTP's Inner London advert says that from April 2027 the initial training programme will last approximately 33 weeks. That sits inside the two-year Police Constable Entry Programme. BTP's older October 2025 pack described 18 weeks in London plus 8 weeks on area; the newer figure applies to April 2027 intakes.
Where is the BTP training centre?
BTP's recruitment pack says England and Wales recruits train at "our training centre in London". BTP's recruit pages do not publish the address. Scotland recruits train at the Scottish Police College.
Is BTP training residential?
It depends on your posting. BTP's pack says accommodation is not available for Inner London postings, Outer London recruits may request it at formal offer without a guarantee, C Division recruits get accommodation for the in-person weeks in London and the Scotland course is residential.
Does BTP use the PCDA or DHEP?
No. BTP's live route for new constables in England and Wales is the Police Constable Entry Programme (PCEP), a two-year non-degree programme. No PCDA or DHEP vacancy was open on 23 October 2026.
Am I paid during BTP training?
Yes. New recruits are paid £33,609 a year (pay point 2) from the start. Inner London recruits also get £9,044.75 of London allowances from day one of training. BTP pays every four weeks, so that is £2,585.31 gross per period on basic pay alone.
Can I take annual leave during BTP training?
No. BTP's recruitment pack says annual leave is not permitted during the training phase or the on-area phase.
Do I have to pass the bleep test again in training?
Yes. BTP says you take the 5.4 bleep test again in your first week of training and at the start of the Personal Safety Training module. Probationers also take 5.4 tests during the two-year probation.
How long is BTP probation?
Two years for police officers. Specialist roles open up only after probation, according to BTP's FAQs.
When is the next BTP training intake?
The current Inner London campaign says intakes start from April 2027. BTP has not published other 2027 intake dates. After a conditional offer you stay in the recruitment pool for up to 12 months until an intake is identified.
How is BTP training different in Scotland?
Scotland recruits take a two-year Modern Apprenticeship leading to an SCQF Level 7 Certificate in Policing: 12 weeks at the Scottish Police College, then 4 weeks of local training, covering Scots criminal law, railway policing, personal track safety, first aid and personal safety training.
How long is training for transferees?
BTP's transferee pack describes a 4-week induction at the London training centre covering railway legislation, BTP systems and track safety, with probation of either 6 or 12 months.
Sources and how we checked them
Every factual claim on this page was written from the sources below, read on 23 October 2026. Rules and figures change, so check the source for the date you are reading this. Where we could not confirm something from an official or independent source, the page says so rather than guessing. Spotted something out of date? See our corrections policy.
- BTP careers: Police Officer (Full Time) : PCEP two-year programme; Full Operational Competence and Established Practitioner Status; Scotland Modern Apprenticeship; fitness retests; probation exams; pay (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP advert 1736: Police Officer, Inner London : "approximately 33 weeks" from April 2027; non-degree entry route; intakes from April 2027 (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP advert 1746: Police Officer, Stevenage, Colchester, Southend, Brighton and Guildford : no degree required or completed as part of the programme (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP Recruitment Information Pack (PDF, 9 Oct 2025, attached to advert 1720) : 18 weeks at the London training centre plus 8 on area; remote days; accommodation by division; no leave during training; three fitness attempts (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP careers: FAQs : two-year probation; specialist roles after probation; do not resign before the formal offer (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP FOI 01/FOI/24/2523: TRiM referrals and fitness test (PDF) : fitness test mandatory only in initial training and for specialist roles (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP Transferee/Rejoiner Recruitment Pack (PDF, 8 Jul 2026, attached to advert 793) : 4-week induction; accommodation for C Division; 6 or 12 months' probation; paid every four weeks in arrears (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP careers: Transferees : induction content including track safety (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP careers: BTP Re-joiner (Returner Pathway) : BTP Returner Pathway induction rules (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP careers: Police Community Support Officers : PCSO training: 8 weeks in London, 4 weeks on area (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP careers: Specials and Volunteers : 24 days' initial training for Special Constables (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP careers: Application Guidance : references and vetting only after an offer (accessed 23 October 2026)
- BTP Vetting Top Tips (PDF, attached to adverts 1775 and 793) : three years of UK address history (accessed 23 October 2026)
On this topic elsewhere
More in this guide series
More for BTP applicants and officers
Disclaimer
PolicePay.co.uk is an independent guide. It is not affiliated with British Transport Police, the British Transport Police Authority, the BTP Force Superannuation Fund, Railpen or the College of Policing. It does not recruit, test or assess applicants. Our practice questions and scenarios are original PolicePay material, not BTP's own. BTP runs its own selection process and changes it. Its own pages sometimes disagree, so check the live advert and BTP's careers site before relying on anything here. Details are as checked on 23 October 2026.